PORTRAITS DE VILLES

DINA GOLDSTEIN

Dina Goldstein is a Canadian photographer working with large-scale supports, exploring the elements of the human condition, through the lens of Pop Surrealism.

Her career began as a photojournalist, editorial and commercial photographer. She describes her early work as photoanthropology, as she documented and exhibited portraits of Palestinians, Gamblers, Teenagers, Weightlifters, Wrestlers and various other subcultures.

Dina Goldstein was inspired by personal events when she created the highly conceptual Fallen Princesses between 2007 and 2009. The series questions the “happily ever after” motif created by Disney and Western society. The project went viral online and keeps on being broadcasted.  

Her second major body of work In the Dollhouse (2012) is a ten parts sequential narrative that takes place within a very pink adult sized Dollhouse belonging to Barbie and Ken.  

Dina has won numerous awards such as the Arte Laguna Grand Prize, which invited her to attend a residency in India. She recently released Gods Of Suburbia (2014), her most complex photographic initiative to date. She was awarded the Prix Virginia in 2014, an International Prize for Women, and got invited in Paris where an exhibit was organised to show her work.

PORTRAITS DE VILLES

DINA GOLDSTEIN

Dina Goldstein est une photographe canadienne qui travaille à grande échelle, en explorant les éléments de la condition humaine, à travers le prisme du pop surréalisme.

Elle commence sa carrière en tant que photojournaliste, photographe de rédaction et de publicité. Au début, elle capte des portraits de Palestiniens, de joueurs, d’adolescents, d’haltérophiles, de catcheurs et d’autres personnes issues de sous-cultures et elle aime décrire ses images comme de la photoanthropologie.

Quand elle a créé la série hautement conceptuelle des Fallen Princesses, entre 2007 et 2009, Dina s’est inspirée d’événements personnels. Cette série remet en cause une vision des princesses telles qu’elles sont présentées dans les dessins animés Disney tout comme dans la société occidentale et notamment l’épilogue selon lequel : « elles vécurent heureuses ». Ce projet rencontre un immense succès en ligne et continue d’être diffusé.

Sa deuxième grande œuvre, In the Dollhouse, réalisée en 2012, est un récit chronologique en 10 parties qui se déroule dans une maison de poupée toute rose, destinée à des adultes et dont les propriétaires sont Barbie et Ken.

Dina a remporté de nombreux prix tels que le Grand Prix Arte Laguna, qui l’a conduite à s’installer en Inde. En 2014, elle publie Gods of Suburbia, son initiative photographique la plus complexe jusqu’à ce jour. La même année, elle reçoit le Prix Virginia, un prix international destiné aux femmes, et elle est invitée à Paris où une exposition de ses travaux est organisée.