PORTRAITS DE VILLES

CHANTAL STOMAN

Chantal Stoman is a French, Paris-based photographer.

Her work started with fashion photography and her clichés have been published in the French and international press. Since several years, her work is now part of an approach which allowed her to acquire recognition in the art world.

During her first trip to Tokyo in 2005, she was fascinated by the special relationship Japanese women have with European luxury and fashion, so she decided to start a personal project, A Woman's Obsession, for which an international exhibition and the publication of a book ensured a great success.

Her following research, Lost Highway, A Photo Project, carried out on the highways crossing the great cities of the world, has also been initiated in Japan, and was continued in São Paulo, Cairo, Hong Kong and Bombay. This project focuses on the proximity of these roads from places and ways of living that are far apart.

The first part of this project, realized in Tokyo, was exhibited in 2009 at the Nuit Blanche in Paris where it was set up for a monumental exhibition in the corridors of the metro station Châtelet, Paris’ main subway hub. 

In 2012, it has been exhibited in the prestigious Palais de Chaillot, Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine of Paris, during the Mois de la Photo. Since then, the exhibition has been traveling. In Mumbai, Lost Highway, Lightbox project was presented at the Bonjour India Festival. In Kyoto, Lost Highway, Video Project was screened at the Manga Museum during the 2013 Nuit Blanche. Again in Paris, both photo and video projects were presented at the House of Architecture for the Festival City & Cinema 2015 before Lost Highway continues its route to the United States and Southeast Asia in 2016 and 2017.

Chantal Stoman’s latest project, L’Image Culte was initiated in spring 2013 during a stay at the Villa Medicis in Roma and aims to observe the position of the image in roman Faith. The project has been released in October 2014 in Roma, with an important exhibition at the Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica for the Fotografia Festival. Then it has been presented in Paris during the Mois de la Photo 2014.

A Woman’s Obsession, Lost Highway and L'Image Culte were purchased by the French National Library (BNF) for the national public collections.

Chantal Stoman’s images are realized with analogical films in the tradition of the classical fine art photography.

PORTRAITS DE VILLES

CHANTAL STOMAN

Chantal Stoman vit et travaille à Paris. Sa carrière débute avec la photographie de mode et ses images sont publiées dans la presse française et internationale. Depuis plusieurs années, son travail, inscrit dans une démarche personnelle, acquiert une reconnaissance dans le monde de l’art.

En 2005, lors de son premier séjour au Japon, elle est fascinée par la relation particulière que les Japonaises entretiennent avec la mode et le luxe européens, elle décide alors d’en faire un projet personnel, A Woman’s Obsession : une exposition internationale et la publication d’un livre sur ce thème lui assurent un vif succès.

Elle poursuit son travail avec Lost Highway, a Photo Project réalisé sur les flyovers (échangeurs autoroutiers) de grandes villes, Tokyo, São Paulo, Le Caire, Hong Kong, Bombay et Calcutta. Le projet se penche sur la similitude de ces nœuds routiers situés dans des lieux pourtant éloignés et dans des cultures bien différentes. 
La première partie de ce projet, réalisée à Tokyo, est exposée en 2009 à Paris, dans les couloirs de la station de métro Châtelet, à l’occasion de la Nuit Blanche. En 2012, le projet entier fait partie d’une grande exposition à la Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine, dans le cadre du Mois de la Photographie. Depuis, l’exposition voyage. À Bombay, où Lost Highway, Lightbox project est présent au Festival Bonjour India. À Kyoto, où Lost Highway, Video project est projeté au Manga Museum lors de la Nuit Blanche (2013). Puis de nouveau à Paris, où exposition et projet vidéo sont montrés à la Maison de l’Architecture à l’occasion du Festival Ville et Cinéma (2015). Enfin, en 2016 et 2017, Lost Highway poursuit sa route aux États-Unis et en Asie du Sud-Est.

Le dernier projet de Chantal Stoman, L’Image culte, initié dans le cadre d’une Résidence à la Villa Médicis en 2013 et poursuivi en 2014, observe la place de l’image dans la foi catholique à Rome. Il est présenté pour la première fois en 2014 à L’Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica de Rome dans le cadre du Festival Fotografia, puis à Paris à la Galerie Wanted, lors du Mois de la Photo 2014.

A Woman’s Obsession, Lost Highway et L'Image culte font partie de la Collection publique de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

Les images de Chantal Stoman sont réalisées en film argentique dans la tradition de la photographie classique fine art.