PORTRAITS DE VILLES

PATRICK MESSINA

Patrick Messina was born in 1967. He is a graduate from the École Louis Lumière and lives and works in Paris. Landscapes and portraits, press and publicity, Patrick Messina has imposed his own language in a range of fields: all of the touchstones of our daily lives are scrutinized, magnified and called into question simultaneously. 

In parallel to his commissioned photography, Patrick has been working on a long-term landscape photography project for several years, based on experiments with scale and perspective that give no indication of the cities or landscape depicted, creating a sense of unreality.

He is one of the four founders of the France(s) Territoire Liquide project, a collective investigation into the French landscape that began in 2011 under the artistic direction of Paul Wombell. The project as a whole was featured in a film and in exhibitions.

Since the start of his career, Patrick Messina has worked with the darkroom, where creative possibilities have allowed to invent a universe that is recognizable to us all, whose images offer a reduced field of clarity and an unusual blurring of boundaries.

PORTRAITS DE VILLES

PATRICK MESSINA

Patrick Messina est né en 1967. Diplômé de l’École Louis Lumière, il vit et travaille à Paris. Paysages et portraits, presse ou publicité, Patrick Messina a imposé dans les divers domaines de l’image sa propre sémantique : tous les référents qui accompagnent notre quotidien sont comme passés à la loupe, magnifiés et mis en question tout à la fois.

Parallèlement à ses photographies de commande, il s’est engagé depuis quelques années dans un travail au long cours sur les paysages. Des paysages dans lequel Patrick Messina se joue des échelles et des points de vue et ne livre aucune indication sur les villes et les pays représentés, ce qui fabrique un sentiment d’irréalité.

Il est l’un des quatre fondateurs de la mission France(s) Territoire Liquide, une recherche collective sur le territoire français débutée en 2011 et menée sous la direction artistique de Paul Wombell. L’ensemble a fait l’objet d’une publication, d’un film et d’expositions.

Depuis ses débuts, Patrick Messina travaille avec une chambre photographique dont les possibilités lui permettent de créer un univers identifiable entre tous, dont les images présentent une partie nette réduite et des zones de flou inhabituelles.